BSA Scout Camp
The camp is one of the oldest scout summer camps in the United States. According to David Eby, "Scouthaven was purchased in 1918 but was first called Camp Crystal as it was located on Crystal Lake; it was not called Scouthaven until 1923. It is a 400 acre camp and in the early years Scouts got to it by riding a "milk" train which went by the camp. Eby goes on to state, "It is rather unique as it was a turn of the century amusement park that was converted into a Scout camp. The dining hall is the former dance hall from the park and the Camp Rangers office is the railroad depot that was used at the park to drop off and pick up passengers."
The camp was originally owned by Buffalo Council (BC). In 1949, Erie County Council (ECC) merged with Buffalo Council and the camp became part of the Buffalo Area Council (BAC). The camp was still being used as a summer camp when the Buffalo Area Council merged in 1967 with the Niagara Frontier Council (NFC). The Greater Niagara Frontier Council (GNFC) countinued to
use Scouthaven as a summer camp for Boy Scouts until the late 1980s. The camp closed as a Boy Scout summer camp after the 1988 season.
However, in the mid 1990s Camp Scouthaven became the GNFC's primary camp for Cub Scouts during the summer months. According to the GNFC web page, "Camp Scouthaven is the perfect environment for introducing Cub Scouts to the challenges of Scouting and the outdoors. Spanning the entire north shore of Crystal Lake, Scouthaven is located about 8 miles southeast of the Village of Arcade in Cattaraugus County on Route 98. It encompasses more than 732 acres of rolling hills and trees on beautiful Crystal Lake. The main campground is flat and open. The lake is small and calm so even beginners can safely learn to swim and navigate rowboats, canoes, and 'funyaks'."